Government of Trinidad and Tobago
Facebook Twitter Youtube

You are here


PUBLIC ADVISORY #6 Sunday 31st December, 2017 – 7:30 pm

ODPM updates the public on the status of incidents due to inclement weather conditions

The Office of Disaster Preparedness and Management (ODPM), as the lead coordinator of disaster management, remains in contact with all first responder agencies (the Municipal Corporations of the Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government (MORDLG), TT Fire Service, TT Defence Force, TT Police Service, Emergency Support Functions of the National Emergency Operation Centre (NEOC) and Strategic Services Agency–Fusion Centre) to ensure immediate assistance can be rendered if called upon due to continued inclement weather conditions.

The Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service’s (TTMS) Flood Bulletin 5 still applies at this time. The Inclement Weather Bulletin, Riverine Flood Alert and Rough Seas Bulletins remain in effect, until further amended.

The Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government (MORDLG) has reported to the ODPM that they remain in full control of the situation and that no evacuation is required at this time. MORDLG’s Disaster Management Units are on the field and responding to all impacted areas, they will monitor as conditions continue tonight. MORDLG is collaborating with all other agencies to conduct recovery works, damage assessments and shelter impacted flood victims. The Trinidad and Tobago Red Cross Society is also supporting with shelter management to MORDLG at this time.

The ODPM maintains consistent communication with the MORDLG’s Chief Disaster Coordinator and continues to activate its mechanism, the National Emergency Operation Centre (NEOC) at Level One to render support if requested. All Emergency Support Functions of the NEOC remain on standby. The Engineering Battalion is on standby with two DANA teams and Community-Based Environmental Protection and Enhancement Programme (CEPEP) crews are on standby awaiting requests for deployment.

The MORDLG has advised of the following updates to information shared in previous advisories (in bold text):

Impassable Roads to low vehicles:
• Kildeer trace
• Sakeer trace
• Plum Mitan road
• Caroni South Bank Road
• Tumpuna Cumuto Road in San Raphael
• Mafeking Village (Trucks ONLY)
• Cedar Grove
• St. Helena Bypass, Piarco
• Poole Valley

Passable to all vehicles:
• Guayaguayare road (just after the entrance to Poole Valley )
• Suchit Trace Mayaro
• Couva Exchange Road to Waterloo
• Ramlal Trace
• Nanan Trace
• Gilbert Trace
• Manzanilla Stretch
• Grande Riviere Bridge, Paria Road.
• Caparo Valley Road

Impassable to all vehicles:
• Navet village
• Jairam Trace
• The North Coast Road remains closed to the general public, including local traffic.
• Sisters Road Princes Town
• Rochard Douglas Road

Tobago Emergency Management Agency (TEMA)
- All flood waters have subsided and all incidents resolved.

The ODPM will like to underscore the need for citizens to ensure they take the following steps:
1) After heavy rainfall, stay inside until water levels have subsided and it is safe to venture outside;
2) Do not walk/drive through flood waters, delay travel for at least two (2) hours if using routes impassable at this time;
3) Be cautious when walking/driving along hillsides or landslide-prone areas;
4) Persons in low lying areas should secure important documents and protect their property with sand bags;
5) Persons in flood prone areas should elevate appliances and furniture to higher levels;
6) Practice Electrical safety - In the event of flooding, turn off electrical power to your home or business;
7) Listen or look out for further updates on television, radio and social media;
8) Know your emergency contact numbers, specifically your Disaster Management Unit’s number (see attached);
9) Know your nearest shelter;
10) Activate your 72 hour plan and ensure you have enough food, water and medical supplies for at least three (3) days.
11) Be mindful of areas listed which are experiencing street flooding at this time and avoid these areas where possible.

The ODPM continues to work closely with the Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government to lend resources and other support as we keep monitoring present weather conditions.
Issued by:
Public Information, Education and Community Outreach Unit
For further information, please Call:
ODPM’s Customer Call Centre 511/ TEMA’s Hotline 211


Regional Corporation (Disaster Management Unit) Hotline Numbers
Diego Martin Regional Corporation 800-DMRC (3672)
San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation 800-SLRC (7572)
Arima Borough Corporation 800-2ABC (2222)
Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation 800-TPRC (8272)
Port-of-Spain City Corporation 800-PSCC (7722)
Sangre Grande Regional Corporation 800-SGRC (7472)
Chaguanas Borough Corporation 800-DCBC (3222)
Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation 800-CTTC (2882)
Mayaro/Rio Claro Regional Corporation 800-4MRC (4672)
Princes Town Regional Corporation 800-PTRC (7872)
Point Fortin Borough Corporation 800-PFCB (7322)
San Fernando City Corporation 800-SCDU (7238)
Penal/Debe Regional Corporation 800-PDRC (7372)
Siparia Regional Corporation 800-4SRC (4772)

 Calendar     Hazard Maps         Emergency Contacts